Cassper Nyovest’s big wins at the Metro FM Awards

The 14th Annual Metro FM awards was held on the 28th February at the Inkosi Albert Luthuli Conference Centre (ICC), in Durban. Music stars and celebrities came out in their numbers and finest to celebrate the greatness in the music Industry.

This is one of the most anticipated Awards ceremony following the ChannelO AMVA. Cassper Nyovest, K.O and AKA have been at the forefront of the taking and it’s made the competition and expectation between these 3 very stiff.

Dear lord. Lead the way . #MMA14

A photo posted by @casspernyovest on

Cassper Nyovest took home the larger share of the awards at the ChannelO AMVA, top critics were very much sure the same would transpire at the Metro FM awards as the music landscape of South Africa is somewhat related.

This was exactly the case as expected, Hip hop artist, Cassper Nyovest scooped the most coveted awards and walked away with five trophies.


God is good, all the time!!! Thank you for all your votes #MMA14 A photo posted by @casspernyovest on

Here is a list of all the winners:

Best African pop album
Afrotraction For The Lovers

Best compilation album
Vinny da Vinci Deep House Sounds vol 10

Best dance album
Nastee Nev 0808 Sweet soul

Best female album
Naima Kay Ngiyavuma
Best duo/group album
The Soil Nostalgic Moments
Best hip hop album
Cassper Nyovest Tsholofelo
Best urban jazz album
Wanda Baloyi Love and Life
Best kwaito album
Lvovo Derango The Boss
Best male album
Cassper Nyovest Tsholofelo
Best urban gospel album
Sfiso Ncwane Bayede Baba
Best new artist
Chymamusique Gift of Sound
Song of the year
Cassper Nyovest Doc Shebeleza
Best hit single
Cassper Nyovest Doc Shebeleza
Best music video
DJ Fisherman Call Out
Best R&B single
Lloyd Cele Ndiyakudinga Mtakwethu
Best remix
Duncan featuring Aka, Professor, Mampitsha Tsiki Tsiki remix
Best collaboration
AKA featuring Burna Boy, Da Les & JR All Eyes on Me
Metro FM Special Awards
All nominated artists are automatically entered for the following categories:

Best produced album – The Soil Nostalgic Moments
Best styled artist/duo/group – Donald
Listener’s choice – Cassper Nyovest
Best selling music downloads – Zahara

Lifetime achievement Awards
Tsepo Tshola
Mahotella Queens

Previous Article

Minister Nhlanhla Nene : Budget speech 2015

Next Article

Generations Contender : Ashes to Ashes

Related Posts